System JO has a gigantic selection of flavored lubes, and they were kind enough to send me a couple to review. In this review I’ll be comparing the “Lemon Splash” and “Raspberry Sorbet” versions of their flavored, water based lubricants.

System JO makes quite a few body-safe lubricants for women (my favorite is their Agape version), however these flavored H20 lubes include parabens and glycerin in the ingredients. Glycerin can cause yeast infections, although System JO claims they use a kind of glycerin that doesn’t cause them. Some women have a sensitivity to parabens, so it may be best to do a patch test before using this lube.

The full list of ingredients: Propyl Paraben, Methyl Paraben, Sodium Carboxy Methyl Cellulose, Glycerine, Purified water, Natural and artificial flavors.

I love to use this lube for massages because the scents are wonderful. The raspberry smells like a sugary-fruit dessert and the lemon smells like lemon heads (the candy). Citrus is by far my favorite flavor and scent, so I absolutely adore using this on my partner before or after sex. It doesn’t last quite as long as their H20 for Women, but it does last fairly long. It leaves the skin silky smooth with a hint of scent that is heaven to kiss. It never gets sticky or gummy, and you can reapply as often as you need to.

Now, the taste could be better. I don’t like licking this in big amounts because there is a sharp kick of chemical taste. However, after that settles, it leaves a nice hint of raspberry or lemon taste. Kissing it leaves a tiny bit of scent on the lips; but it isn’t unpleasant at all. It’s quite similar to Chapstick, but a little sweeter and slicker.

The bottles are also very well designed. They feature a red button that flips the lid open when pressed. The button is impossible to miss, even to those of us who are blind without glass. After you flip the lid open the lube pours out freely on to your skin. I’m slightly worried that somehow the button will get pushed and the lube will get into my purse when I carry this around in my purse, so I usually throw it in a plastic baggy.

Texture wise, this is one of the thinnest lubes I’ve used. It slips and drips easily. However, even if it does get on your bed sheets, it should wash out easily without staining. After you rub it into your skin, it doesn’t run or drip off at all.

Which tastes better? It really depends on the mood. I find lemon to be a little more cheerful and happy, while the raspberry is great for nights where you want to take things a little bit slower. They’re about equally sweet which was somewhat surprising to me.

Thank you System JO for providing these to me for review!

